Fearless Friday

GangstaBudz
It’s been a busy week. Lot of stuff going on at work. But I’m getting a long weekend this week, a full three days (instead of two and a half). I know, all this work is backbreaking. People ask me how I hold up under the pressure. I answer them by saying, “Huh”? I’m swapping days with a co worker so he’s taking a day for me today.

I got a new bed! A full size Denver Mattress company bed. It’s so awesome. The mattress is double thick. It’s firm, but it feels like a feather bed. It just amazingly conforms to my body. I can’t wait to break it in properly.

The funniest people come into my office. Jorge Molina came in to pay for his unit… Yeah. I’m pretty sure he’s on parole, or probation. I know he’s done time. One time he came in tweaking pretty bad, and he started threatening people, so I had to kind of talk to him a little bit. But ever since then, when he comes in he acts like his mother’s pride and joy. He has the nicest smile. He’s got the whole tattoo thing goin’ on, and a prison buzzcut.Sort a cleancut, regular guy, gangsta look. He wore one of those cuban wifebeater shirts, and gave me his little grin. He has to ride his bicycle, because evidently he’s not allowed to drive. I suspect he has ADD. A lot of ADD people wind up with drug problems, which lead to legal problems.
Did you know that the USA, which has 5% of the world’s population, has 25% of the world’s prison population. There’s no way to spin that to make it look good. But basically a huge percentage of them are just people who got caught up in an addiction.
In Switzerland, they don’t criminalize drug use. They make you report to the neighborhood drug clinic to get your shot. The drug is manufactured under supervision, and the usage is under supervision. Most users are able to keep their jobs, so they don’t have to start a life of crime to pay for their forbidden pleasure. They are also able to get counseling, and all but about 10% are able to get off the poison after a few years of treatment.
That just sounds so much more humane, realistic, and functional than the typical D.A.’s rant of “Get tough on crime”. People love the sound of that, as a campaign promise, but it doesn’t actually accomplish anything productive. To be fair, Prez Bush did fund a program for drug treatment in 2003. I don’t know if it’s ongoing, though.

Folks, we lost the War on Drugs a long time ago. Scolding the Bolivians for growing coca won’t solve the problem. They know how to handle it down there. They’ve been growing and using Coca leaf for centuries.
So Jorge, I don’t hold it against you too much. Just don’t blow up on me next time your need gets the better of you.

Oh, I met the coolest guy today. His name is Karam. He’s of Turkish ancestry, but from Germany. I met him at the barbershop. He just moved here recently. He has that dark, Turkish, slightly furry look, but with a certain central European polish. It’s a really fun combination. He was trying to get into his car, and I just accosted him and introduced myself. I didn’t want to let him get away. He didn’t scream and run, so that’s a good sign.

As Shakespeare said, “All’s well that ends well”.

Have a great weekend, friends and lovers.

Be loved,
DEL

3 Responses to “Fearless Friday”

  1. tornwordo Says:

    Yeah, the Swiss have the compassionate and wise response. Congrats on the new bed and the three day weekend!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Hey Big Brother, nice blog! I checked your “profile” and found you are older than me, so no more of that big sister stuff. Okay?

    Take care,
    Maureen

  3. Knottyboy Says:

    I’ve always been amazed by the diversity of people who move into a small town. I love it when I see a face I can’t place here at my local grocery store. And a handsome black face would be the bomb! 🙂 Diversity is the spice in my life.
    kb

Leave a Reply

