MOTHER’S DAY BLUES


I’m not having a good Mother’s Day. Other people get depressed at Christmas. I have to get depressed on Mother’s Day. That’s absolutely not permitted, at least by the voices in my head.
I never used to get depressed on holidays, ever. But I am today. It’s probably not polite to be depressed when all those hard working, loving, awesome Mom’s out there are getting honored, but there it is.

They deserve to be honored. I attribute the low infanticide rates to the incredible power of Motherhood. I also think that it’s somehow miraculous that more young mothers don’t run amok and go postal. You know, every once in a while you see a headline about a mom killing her kids. Even then, she can’t bear to see them off alone, so she commits suicide, just to be with them.

My God, I can’t believe what I’m writing.

Is there some Catholic patron saint for son’s who were raised by wolves? I’m not especially catholic, but I don’t care where the help comes from today. You can light a candle, say a spell, or just send me a big, long hug. It’s all good( but honestly, the last one is better).

Does this mean I have Mother/Son issues?

Mother’s Day began In 1872, when Boston poet, pacifist and women’s suffragist Julia Ward Howe established a special day for mothers –and for peace– not long after the bloody Franco-Prussian War.
Mother’s Day is not just about buying a card and saying, “Thank you”. It’s about living peace, and mercy, and kindness….blah, blah, blah.
Whatever. It’s always about that.

ME, ME, ME…
The worst part is, a voice inside me is saying, “You must create a Post today.” Are the blog gods going to punish me if I don’t post? If I don’t create a post, will no one ever, ever look me up again? Will I die, lonely and forsaken, in my isolated corner of The Blogger’s Old Folks Home??
When an attractive stray visitor comes in, after having taken a wrong turn at the Nurses Station, will I belabor him with phlegm soaked stories of how I once had a thriving blog, with lot’s and lot’s of visitors, until in fear and horror he fights his way free of my palsied, clutching, liver-spotted hands, emerging exhausted and frightened into the sunlight?

Me, me, me…

Like I said, “I got issues.”
I’ll be fine, though, really.
Thanks.

Be loved guys,

DEL

4 Responses to “MOTHER’S DAY BLUES”

  1. Kalvin Says:

    “I attribute the low infanticide rates to the incredible power of Motherhood.” You really have one of my most favorite writing styles in the blog world today from what I’ve read so far. I don’t know how mothers do it. I would just want to kill. I actually wonder a lot if you can just give kids away, and if they are adopted don’t your responsibilities end? See, that’s why you have to get rid of them early!

  2. Kalvin Says:

    Oh, and a big, long hug too!

  3. tornwordo Says:

    Big long hug being currently emitted in your direction.

  4. Nathan Says:

    Big long hug and lots of love being sent your way.

    You know, Cancers are very sensitive to topics related to Mom.

Leave a Reply

