LOVE, SURVIVAL AND UPS

September 1, 1939, excerpts
All I have is a voice
To undo the folded lie,
The romantic lie in the brain
Of the sensual man-in-the-street
And the lie of Authority
Whose buildings grope the sky:
There is no such thing as the State
And no one exists alone;
Hunger allows no choice
To the citizen or the police;
We must love one another or die.
-W H Auden

RANDOM THOUGHTS

I’m waiting for the UPS delivery guy. I missed him Thursday. I know because he left a note on my office door, during lunch siesta. Friday I kept the office door open and stayed close by, to make sure I didn’t miss him. At 3:00 when I stepped out to open up the gate for the afternoon, I saw a note on the door, telling me that this is the third time they’ve attempted to deliver this package, and now I have to call them and pick it up myself, a fifty mile drive, one way. I was being punished by UPS for not being attentive enough to their needs.

I was sitting not fifteen feet away from the door. If Delivery Guy had knocked with any energy at all, I would have been there like a flash. It was the DVD of BrokeBack Mountain. I was Jonesing really bad for that package.

So I called up their “hot line(that’s a major joke)”, and ranted at the sexy recording(Would you like to press my pound key?) until a human picked up the line. By this time Delivery Guy was long gone to the next dusty little town. I was politely informed that I was SOL.

After a little more ranting, it was decided by the Package Gods that perhaps an exception could be made in my case, and I wouldn’t have to wait until June 12.

Delivery Guy would be dispatched to my home/office as early as Tuesday, May 30, with instructions to knock this time.

Would this be considered cause for a “just war”? Just kidding, En. Does that mean righteous kidding, in the same sense as a just, or righteous war? Or is it “just” war as in, “it could be a lot worse”?

Doe I owe more allegiance to a concept we call a “Nation”, or do I owe allegiance to humanity?

Do I owe allegiance to some more than others? Do I owe more allegiance to Canadians than to Iranians, for example? Canadians look more like me, and they’re funny because they’re so, well, Canadian. They’re kind of cute, in an uptight kind of way. Except for the Quebecois. They’re just cute. I like the fact that Canadians come in at least two flavors. What about Mexicans? They don’t look like me, at all. And they speak differently. What’s the cutoff point for allegiance? How alike do we have to be for me to be loyal to you? To protect you?

The idea of a “Nation”, was only invented about 500 years ago. It’s an idea with definite drawbacks. Nations are corporations, and were created to control the flow of money and goods. I think it’s ironic that one of the major principles of Free Trade as a policy, is unhindered flow of money and goods. The second principle is keeping people contained on their side of the fence.

Before Europe started incorporating during the late Renaissance, there were just spheres of influence, marked by language and culture. Borders of most countries changed all the time. Here in America, we seem to believe that God drew the boundaries with an indelible marker. How could I ever give allegiance to that notion?

Defenceless under the night

Our world in stupor lies;

Yet, dotted everywhere,

Ironic points of light

Flash out wherever the Just

Exchange their messages:

May I, composed like them

Of Eros and of dust,

Beleaguered by the same

Negation and despair,

Show an affirming flame.

I don’t have answers, but I’ve heard that in the long run it’s more important to have the right questions.

My package is here. ‘Bye for now.

Be loved,

DEL

6 Responses to “LOVE, SURVIVAL AND UPS”

  1. tornwordo Says:

    That was an excellent example of a nonsequiteur! And have you been reading Howard Zinn? You’d dig that. I wish there were no borders, but that makes me major marginalization material.

  2. Kalvin Says:

    I feel like I’m missing something because I didn’t notice any nonsequiteur. Did I miss something? I loved the Auden poem. It’s sexy and terse. The last bit seems more modern, but it all weaves together quite nicely in my opinion. And now I feel lost.

  3. BarbaraFromCalifornia Says:

    Very artistic, creative and thoughtful blog you have here.

    I found it via the blog of Yid Erotica.

  4. Scott Says:

    I like you Daniel. Our thoughts tend to run with the same herds. I sometimes think that America is the great lie. Yet, pardoxically I am very proud to be American.

    One of the best qualities of the human experience is to be able to live comfortably in two different states… LOL… PA and OH.

  5. Party Girl Says:

    Having been on the receiving end of the post-it note from said UPS man, I feel your pain. Oh, how I feel your pain!

  6. Em Says:

    I’m so glad to read that Auden poem again. I ran across it a few years ago and loved him for writing it.

Leave a Reply

