IN THE NAME OF THE FATHER

I went walking in the rain last night. It was awesome, I felt so alive. Then I woke up this morning with a raspy throat, feeling way under par. I went walking in the rain. It felt fun at the time. More likely it’s the fact that I stepped up the workout. I’ve been walking two miles, and I increased it to four. I’m paying a little price for it today. So I took some Dayquil. Now I feel under par with a low level buzz. Cool.

About the Meme. I usually get the same outcome, INFP. Although sometimes I get INFJ, or INTP. I’m somewhat balanced between feeling/thinking and pragmatic/judging, but I’m off the charts as Intuitive Introvert. Yesterday when I was preparing the post, the browser crashed, and I lost all my screens. So I took the quiz again, and found that I could give myself whatever result I wanted. I decided to see if I could be an ESTJ , and sure enough, I came up with that at the end.
I don’t put much stock in those tests anymore. It’s sort of like the eye chart. Any body can have perfect vision. All you have to do is memorize the chart.
**************************************************************
IN THE NAME OF THE FATHER

Remember the uproar about free speech when those Moslem cartoons came out several months ago? Well, it seems free speech only applies when we’re making fun of Moslems.
The Gay Police Association pointed out that there has been a 74% rise in assaults on gays in the UK.
They took out an ad stating, “In the last 12 months, the GPA has recorded a 74% increase in homophobic incidents, where the sole or primary motivating factor was the religious belief of the perpetrator.”
This is a matter of police record, not interpretation.
Scotland Yard feels that this may be a “faith” crime. They’re going to be investigating those bad Gay Policemen to see if it was a crime to post this ad, since surely it demonstrated religious hatred to say something mean about the nice Christian boys beating up on the queers and faggots. Right?
I’m just not sure why it wasn’t a crime before, when it was Muslims.
Especially since the police ad is just stating documented fact, for the record.
I guess it just goes to show that the Christian God has a much bigger “Whuppass stick” than the Muslim God.
It makes me feel warm all over.

*************************************************************

This is a picture from the local poetry discussion group I belong to. Here we’re discussing the ontology of early existential thought in Dante’s Divine Comedy, as reflected in the cosmogony of The Price is Right. There’s also a good bit of friendly, drunken snuggling and groping that goes on. Usually we meet under the bridge, but this month, because of the rainy weather we’re being allowed indoors, a rare privilege.

*************************************************************

Be loved,

DEL

11 Responses to “IN THE NAME OF THE FATHER”

  1. Em Says:

    Sorry about the under par bit, but if you are happy with the low grade buzz, cool.

    Your poetry group sounds fun. Just the right balance between low and coarse and high and refined (g).

  2. The Persian Says:

    I am really surprised at that (the increase in Gay Hate crimes in the UK). Half of British men are Poofters mate, lol.

    Seriously tho, I’ve been to England 3 times now (lastly this past December), and I have to say it’s without doubt the most gay friendly country in Europe.

    What the hell??

  3. Clean & Sober Says:

    Hi Daniel,

    Hope you are feeling better.

  4. El Güero Says:

    Keep up with the walking. It’s the best exercise I know.

    As for gay bashing by religious nuts….zero tolerance, I say.

  5. Daniel, the Guy in the Desert Says:

    em-My favorite part is the snuggling, next to the reading and high toned discussion, of course.
    Clean-Thanks, I’m doing all the stuff you’re supposed to do, drink fluids, and rest.
    Persian-I just think They must be doing something right over there,if half the peeps are gay.
    El Guero-I don’t like to run, it messes with my joints, but walking is cool.

  6. Lemuel Says:

    Hey Daniel! Add my wishes to those aimed at your feeling better. I hope its only passing. And zheesh, now you too are goading me into exercise! 🙂

    You make a good point about humor/tolerance/bashing and how the perspective from which you look at it seems to matter. There is a good line in the movie/play 1776 in which the character of Ben Franklin, talking about revolutions with John Adams, notes that the legitimacy of a revolution depends upon the person speaking: whether its “our” revolution or “their” revolution.

    and lastly, your “local poetry discussion group” does intrigue. I’m sure that the members probe the depths of one another’s thoughts, but looking at the members featured, I think I would prefer a group with more mature thinkers. 😉

  7. BarbaraFromCalifornia Says:

    Walking in the rain does indeed give someone an entirely different feeling about what is going on inside and outside of him/her.

    Enjoy the day.

  8. Larry Says:

    I hope you feel better too tiger 🙂

  9. Kalvin Says:

    I love Theraflu for my weird buzz thing. Hopefully you enjoyed the walk enough. I almost don’t even want to talk about the religion part of the post because it makes me so incensed. And the bottom part, well, sheer genius. Where can I join up?

  10. tornwordo Says:

    Me too, I came down with something. I hope you feel better today.

  11. john Says:

    I would love to walk in the rain!–>

Leave a Reply

