ABOUT WORDS

Does anyone remember the term “Metrosexual”, other than Starr Jones? Some words are coined and take hold in the social mind, gradually becoming standard, while others fade away.
The new word is “menaissance”. Like a renaissance of men, get it? I’ll give you any odds that this coinage won’t last ’til Thanksgiving.
Even when words do become common usage, meanings morph over time. For example, ten years ago, no one would ever have used the word “morph” that wanted to be considered literate. Now it’s pretty standard.
Way back in the nether years, when I was a child and all children walked to school barefoot in the snow, we had never heard of the phrase, “blow it off”. I was a teenager before I figured that one out. I still feel slightly sexy when I use that. But that’s no criterion, because I feel slightly sexy even in my sleep.

Here’s this lovely bit from The 1811 Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue : The blowen was nutts upon the kiddey because he is well-hung.” Translated into English it means, “The girl is pleased with the youth because his genitals are large”. But can you imagine calling somebody a “blowen”? That’s funny. A cunny blowen. There’s a decriptive phrase for you.

I always wondered how “shagging” came to be used as a term for sex. This dates from the late 1300’s. Evidently it’s a first cousin to the word “shake”. Now I get it. “He is but bad shag; he is no woman’s man. ” That sounds intriguing. Is he perhaps a man’s man, an alternative type shagger?

In the year 1230 there is reference to a street in London known as Gropecunt Lane. Go ahead, take a wild guess. Nobody really knows where the word “cunt” came from. The word may have come from the Nordic “kunton”(nobody knows what it means), or the Latin “cunneus” for wedge, but nobody knows for sure. It probably came about because it sounded good, like “menaissance” doesn’t.

Here’s another oddity from the 1950’s: “To jerk off a hooker.” It means to “withdraw, or cause to be withdrawn, a warrant pending against a convict currently serving a prison term.” This comes from The American Underworld Dictionary – 1950. I have to confess that I don’t get this one at all. Perhaps some exonerated convict can explain it to me. No really, you can write me.
*************************************************
The Cultcha Corner


Henry Scott Tukes painted this a long time ago. He called it “Lovers of the Sun”. Right…You and I know the real name of this should be “Lovers of the Penis”. I especially like the placement of the fish. And the naked young man reaching down to play with the dead fish in the man’s lap. And the fact that all these naked young (gay)boys just happen to be playing where a (gay)fisherman is cleaning dead (probably gay)fish. I know when I was a child I always wanted to play naked where men were cleaning fish.

Be loved,

DEL

9 Responses to “ABOUT WORDS”

  1. tornwordo Says:

    That’s a cool painting (and interesting post) and so charged.

  2. Lemuel Says:

    I am fascinated with the word studies and any time your up for it you and cannot figure what else to post, I wouldn’t mind another round of the “Origin of the Phrases” by DtGitD. Engrossing – in the good sense.

  3. Jim Says:

    Heres a fun experiment to try: go to UrbanDictionary.com, pick randoms words, notice the definitions are the same as the previous generation but the term has changed, been recombined with another.

    So, why is it that each generation redefines the slang of the previous generation? Is it an identity thing?

  4. JR Says:

    Sun, Penis, what ever works. I am a lover of both.

  5. Kalvin Says:

    I enjoy all this word talk, but then I always enjoy word talk. The one that sticks in my head lately is google. When did it click over in my head to be okay to “google” something instead of perform an internet search?

  6. The Persian Says:

    that was interesting, gropecunt lane? ewwwwwwwww πŸ™‚

  7. castor Says:

    Thanks for the funny dictinary πŸ™‚ !

  8. Em Says:

    Your commentary on the picture made me laugh. I can’t believe you are so skeptical. Everyone knows that (gay) phrolicking (I did that on purpose. I think it looks better that way.) in the sun is completely assexual. What really concerns me is the fish in the lap guy. His leg is blue. Get the clothes off that boy, he needs even more sun!

  9. Citysqwirl Says:

    Excellent etymologies! Glad I found your site.

Leave a Reply

