FOR S.


As Eagle’s eye
Fastens upon the prey,
Your gaze draws me,
Daring me to embrace
A fierce love promised

Mesmerized,
Seeing in your wings
A history of storms overflown,
In your talons a recounting
Of struggles with death,
In your cry urgent searching,
Listening for echo of kindred heart,

Yet we remain
Not prey, but at peace,
Eyes locked,
In danced communion
Moving as one

We will hunt together
For a season,
Wings interlocked,
Searching for a place
As yet unknown.

Be loved,

DEL

7 Responses to “FOR S.”

  1. Ur-spo Says:

    that’s a lovely photo
    Eagles are a sign of hope for me, as they were near extinct but are coming back.
    I hope more animals can be like this.

  2. Em Says:

    That is an amazing poem Daniel. I know that emotional place, you wrote it well.

    (Sounds like things are picking up in the romance arena?)

  3. Kalvin Says:

    I don’t think I know enough about eagles. My favorite line is “in danced communion”…nice.

  4. Lemuel Says:

    Man! Fantastic poem! Beautiful imagery! Haunting! I love it!

  5. Enemy of the Republic Says:

    Have you ever read about the omen in the Iliad with the eagle and the serpent in his talons? It was a sign of impending doom and Hector deliberately ignored it, even though his men and advisors called it to his attention. Eagles are powerful, majestic birds. Snakes don’t bother me much, but whenever I see an eagle, I wonder if I am being told something, and like Hector, I am choosing to ignore it.

  6. Daniel, the Guy in the Desert Says:

    Ur-Spo-the renaissance of the eagle is indeed a sign of hope that the impulse to the transcendent can regain it’s place in our world.
    Em-They’re certainly getting more interesting and complex, relationally. And that’s satisfying to me, too.
    Kal-Thaks, I like that line too, and the bit about “storms overflown”.
    Lem-Thanks, Buddy!
    Enemy(not mine)-As in the Hebrew and Christian Scriptures, eagles are almost always a sign of a message from the divine. I’m going to go back to the Illiad and reread that with attention my antennae up. Thanks.

  7. Scott Says:

    thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

