ON THE CREST OF THE MOUNTAIN

Awesome day today. It looked rainy and thunderstormy this morning, but we went up the mountain anyway. It was raining so the front road was closed. That meant no tourists, which was perfect for us. Rusty has a four wheel drive Jeep, so we went the back way up the mountain, all the way to the top. We brought stuff like beef jerky and bottled water, and a giant sleeping bag, in case we needed to, uhhhhm, rest.
I did manage to take a few shots before the batteries went out.
And we did take a nice nap. Actually we napped twice, and er, slept in between. We both love to nap, so when we get the chance, we do it a lot.


This is the only shot that came out halfway decently. The road up Mount Lemmon was built entirely by convict labor back in the 1930’s. Interestingly, no one knows exactly how many convicts died during the construction because no records have survived, but it was quite a few. I was told that they assigned men serving life sentences who had no families. That gives you an idea.
But I thanked them for building it for us anyway.

Be Loved,

DEL

8 Responses to “ON THE CREST OF THE MOUNTAIN”

  1. AHK Says:

    Ahh, yes. Napping. One of my favorite activities.

  2. Foxy Stone Says:

    if only I could nap… I barely sleep anymore as it is. 😉

  3. Foxy Stone Says:

    I’m confused, who were you napping with?
    are you cheating on me 😉 I
    tee hee hee

    I don’t nap, but I do crawl in sleeping bags.

  4. tornwordo Says:

    The drive up Mount Lemmon is one of the most amazing drives in the Southwest. I’ll never forget it.

  5. Lemuel Says:

    Would your activites be a new twist on the mile high club?

  6. Em Says:

    I love that rainy day picture.

    Also I’m glad you are getting napping opportunities, because rest is so important!

  7. Kalvin Says:

    Hooray for the naps!

  8. Mikey Says:

    The pic of the mount loos amazing!!! I live in a place that has no mountians…just some hills.

Leave a Reply

