SISSY MAN BLUES

I’m still in Blues mode.
Here’s a link to a famous old blues tune, “Sissy Man Blues”.
I know the name isn’t the most uplifting, but to me it’s important because it shows that sexual distinctions were more fluid back then, at least to blues people.
Most people think it was written by Kokomo Arnold in 1935. It was popular, covered several times in just a few years by such artists as Pinewood Tom, Josh White,
George Noble, and Connie McLean’s Rhythm Kings.
Kokomo was a fun guy. He was born in 1901, in Buffalo, New York(a serious blues town). Music was never his first choice. He only became a blues player after the repeal of Prohibition rendered bootlegging unprofitable.
I like his style. He goes real heavy on the slide guitar sounds, like most blues, and he imitates the slide guitar with his voice.
He’s not as spooky sounding as Robert Johnson.
I’ll post the lyrics so you can follow along.
*************************************

Kokomo Arnold

I believe, I believe I’ll go back home.
I believe, I believe I’ll go back home.
Only to acknowledge to my good gal, mama, lord, and I have
done you wrong.

Now, I’m gonna ring up China, yeah, man, see if I find my good gal over there.
(Ride it, Kokomo, ride it.)
I’m gonna ring up China, see can I find my good gal over
there.
Says the Good Book tella me that I got a good gal in this world somewhere.

Hollerin’ the church bells is tonin’, yeah, man, on one
Sunday mornin’.
(Boys, that’s old Kokomo.)
Hollerin’ the church bell is tonin’ on one Sunday mornin’.
Hollerin’ some old dirty deacon come and rung that bell,
stole my gal and gone.
(Play it, Kokomo.)

Lord, I woke up this mornin’ with my pork grindin’ business in my hand.

Says I woke up this morning with my pork grindin’ business in my hand.
Lord, if you can’t send me no woman, please send me some sissy man.

I’m gonna sing these blues, mama, yeah, man, and I’m gonna lay ’em upon your shelf.
Now, I’m gonna sing these blues, mama, and I’m gonna lay ’em upon your shelf.
Lord, if you wanna hear these blues again, mama, well you sure gonna sing them yourself.
(Now, play It, Mr Koke.)

Now just try to tell me that YOU never woke up with your pork grindin’ bizness in your hand.
To me, blues is the music you sing when you’re walking through the dark valley. You don’t want to stay there too long, ’cause you might get lost. But there’s no shortcut, and there’s no going around. And blues can help you sing your way through it.
*************************************
Blues or not? Which of these do you think understands the blues?

I’ll be ready in a second. I just have to pack an extra thong.

Don’t you wonder what’s stirring down there in his soul?

Oh please, won’t you be my camping and fishing guide?

I think my journey ends right here.

Be loved,

DEL


4 Responses to “SISSY MAN BLUES”

  1. Em Says:

    Oh Daniel’s got the blues
    But he sure do write them fine
    Yes, Daniel’s got the blues
    but he sure do write them fine.
    I’m gonna look at some of his pictures
    and pass this bottle of wine.

  2. Maddog Says:

    Reading your blog before bed sets the tone for such wonderful dreams. Even those filled with the Blues.

  3. Shaney Says:

    LOL…I kind of dont feel blue when you post snaps of such sex appeal…Oh wrong blues..sorry..*pokes tongue*

  4. HAIRYBEARS Says:

    GREATTTTT PICS

    SEXY

    HAIRYBEARS
    http://hairybears.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

