MEMORY

The unnoticed backdrop to my story,
As it plays out on life’s stage.

Taking my place on the stage,
Facing the friends before me,
I look to the audience
To whom my life is addressed,
Finding my utterance confused
By a chorus of voices from the past.

For the background
Is now become player,
Crying out with full voice
Contrary to script,
A volume of words
So well known they have ceased
To be heard as words,
Instead a clamorous roar.

For the past is not dead,
As some have supposed,
But alive with words
Of blessing and cursing,
Which by reason of use
Have become state of being,
With no power inhering,
Subsisting by the energy I lend it.

I have found there is
A time to turn
Away from the footlights
To address this backdrop
Which usurps my part,
Not to silence or stifle,
Nor yet overcome it,
Rather speaking truth,
Seeking to receive any gift
Enfolded therein.

Then, to turn to the present
To speak forth that gift
Pulled from a dark past,
Wrought into wisdom
By exposure to light,
To benefit others
Who may be waiting to hear.

***********************************************************
Photo minutes from a recent meeting of the Tuesday Night Poetry Club…

The poet awaits his muse.

Be loved

DEL

2 Responses to “MEMORY”

  1. JR Says:

    I really liked the poem. I liked the boys kissing too.

  2. Sober @ Sundown Says:

    Hi Daniel,

    Hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

