YOU SAY YOU WANT A REVOLUTION

A Letter From Yoko Ono

December 8th is near again. Every year, on this day, I hear from many people from all over the world who remember my husband, John Lennon, and his message of peace. They write to tell me they are thinking of John on this day and how he was shot and killed at the prime of his life, at age 40, when he had so much life ahead of him.

Thank you for your undying love for John and also for your concern for me on this tragic anniversary. This year, though, on December 8th, while we remember John, I would also like us to focus on sending the following messages to the millions of people suffering around the world:

To the people who have also lost loved ones without cause: forgive us for having been unable to stop the tragedy. We pray for the wounds to heal.

To the soldiers of all countries and of all centuries, who were maimed for life, or who lost their lives: forgive us for our misjudgments and what happened as a result of them.

To the civilians who were maimed, or killed, or who lost their family members: forgive us for having been unable to prevent it.

To the people who have been abused and tortured: forgive us for having allowed it to happen.

Know that your loss is our loss.
Know that the physical and mental abuse you have endured will have a lingering effect on our society, and the world.
Know that the burden is ours.

As the widow of one who was killed by an act of violence, I don’t know if I am ready yet to forgive the one who pulled the trigger. I am sure all victims of violent crimes feel as I do. But healing is what is urgently needed now in the world.

Let’s heal the wounds together.

Every year, let’s make December 8th the day to ask for forgiveness from those who suffered the insufferable.
Let’s wish strongly that one day we will be able to say that we healed ourselves, and by healing ourselves, we healed the world.

With deepest love,
Yoko Ono Lennon
New York City 2006

You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it’s evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
But when you talk about destruction
Don’t you know that you can count me out
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right

The world is teetering on the brink. For the first time in history, we can glimpse the practical possibility that humanity can live without authoritarian government. For the last five thousand years, we have been sold the idea that human society would quickly devolve into chaos unless we trusted a ruling class to protect us from the barbarians at the gates. The corollary to this selling point is that everyday people must give their money and their blood to achieve the goals of the ruling class. The priesthood has always served as the propaganda arm of the governing body, teaching us what to think and believe. If you doubt that statement, have you ever wondered why a minister’s has legal authority granted to him or her by the state to perform marriage ceremonies recognized by the state? A licensed ordained Minister is an officer of the court, and this is true in virtually every nation on earth.
The dangerous truth that our leaders have never wanted us to realize though, is that adult human beings are generally able to govern themselves. This is a truth that the obligarchs don’t want widely disseminated, because when it does attain wide release, people also realize that about 90% of all government everywhere is irrelevant.
When people choose to think for themselves, they quickly reject those who want to do their thinking for them.
This is the great gift that the internet has given the world. If we can keep Corporations from controlling access to web sites, there’s a good chance that free access to information will tip the balances in favor of free thought.
John left us just prior to the advent of the information revolution, but I think he would have seen and utilized the possibilities instantly.

Be loved,

DEL

P.S. Oh yes, I said I would suck up to the one who gave me name of the man in the photo. I should have known you’d do your research, Chris. With JR’s permission of course, I’d like to bear your children.
Lemuel, You’re a brilliant man and a great humanitarian.
And to both of you, I’m only half kidding.

9 Responses to “YOU SAY YOU WANT A REVOLUTION”

  1. The Persian Says:

    Yay … I’ve got a few years to go before I’m in the prime of my life!!

    Love you heaps Yoko ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Kalvin Says:

    Hmm…it reminds me of this speech I heard from the guy who wrote the people’s history of the united states, but as you know 2% of the worlds population control over 50% of the world’s wealth. I agree with you completely though. And as for your having my children, you’ll have to work on being a really docile submissive bottom. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Even still, I don’t know if I can accomplish the whole vigarous top thing. Sigh.

  3. matty Says:

    I adore Yoko’s ideas and wisdom…

  4. Lemuel Says:

    I found your concluding words very interesting (that is, those before the – ahem – accolades. [he snickers]).

    Seriously… There was a time in my life in which I would have been disturbed by those words in the sense that I would not have been able to accept them. I was never the campus rebel or revolutionary in college in the 1960’s. I was the mild mannered, conservative, quiet, “good boy”. Now I know that those words are true and I am disturbed. I shudder. I shudder because I can feel in my gut what is coming (if we do not change) and it won’t be pretty.

  5. Ur-spo Says:

    nice post!
    and I ‘got through’ today!

  6. Greg Says:

    A great message from Yoko Ono. Now, if only the leaders would take heed of such words and sentiments….

  7. Em Says:

    Wow Daniel, you are more hopeful than I am. I was just ranting to Anabel this morning that all of us in the middle class hate the state of our healthcare system, yet we are still too docile to demand a change for the better. I hate being in a group of people who don’t understand or accept the true nature of their power. And until we understand that, I don’t see any hope. I’m glad that you are

  8. Em Says:

    Somehow I cut myself off…

    I was going to say that I’m glad you are hopeful though because it is comforting.

  9. Foxy Stone Says:

    the masses might melt away
    into a collective conciousness
    of baby dolls, electric clocks, and high definition televisions

    we are still far from governing ourselves and even further from imagining a world without strife…

    a beast without teeth is a beast that dies

Leave a Reply

