LOONIES THREATEN SEARS

Today I browsed the website of the American Family Association, headed up by the well known loony of the far right fringe, the Most Right Reverend Donald Wildmon. While there, I found some fascinating things.
AFA is raising the alarm that Sears is supporting the fledging LOGO network. There are several companies participating in the ad campaign, but evidently Wildmon senses that Sears is the weak link in the chain.
Quote:

Sears has thrown its support to the LOGO network. LOGO is the 24-hour cable television network dedicated to programming for lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transgenders according to a homosexual advertising website. It is carried on many cable systems around the country. Many of you have been forced to accept it as part of your cable package. Sears is now helping to make it mainstream!

Sear’s advertising will help LOGO air shows like “Sex 2K Drag Kings,” “The Gayest and Greatest of 2006,” and “Transgeneration.”

Sears advertising (two-minute infomercials) will go to help the fledging network get on firm financial ground. Sears advertising is financing LOGO’s push to legalize homosexual marriage in addition to promoting the homosexual lifestyle.

Click Here to Send Your Email to Sears Now!

And of course, the article ends with a request for money:

If you think our efforts are worthy, would you please support us with a small gift? Thank you for caring enough to get involved.

Sincerely,

Donald E. Wildmon, Founder and Chairman
American Family Association

P.S. Please print this and share with others.

I think it would be a great idea to follow this link to the article, and use their form to e mail Sears, thanking them for their support of the Logo network.

If you don’t want to go to their site, you can cut and paste this address:
general@customerservice.sears.com

The contact person is:
Aylwin B. Lewis

There’s also a great site run by the Commercial Closet Association
that has information about companies that advertise with gay themes.
**********************************************************
And now on to something sane…
These photos are shown courtesy of funkypunk. These evocative pictures are the result of some very simply overlay techniques done very tastefully, using PhotoShop. I love the ivory skin tones. I want to follow his work as he develops.

Be loved,

DEL

10 Responses to “LOONIES THREATEN SEARS”

  1. Lemuel Says:

    Thanks for the post. Wildmon is an idiot who has been causing havoc among my people for decades. I will use the email to write Sears even though we are not among those who have had LOGO “forced” upon them. (I wish we were! — and how about having 4 channels of ESPN “forced upon me?!)

    As for the pics, my favorite by far is the last one with the jockstrap seductively revealed in the fly of the jeans. Man, I found that one hot!

  2. Jim Says:

    AFA, what a bunch of whack jobs, something tells me Duke and Ahmadinejad are involved 🙂

    Those photos using overlays are fantastic – dimension and movement – very sexy! I really should learn how to use Photoshop, its been on my computer unused for 2 years 🙂

  3. Foxy Stone Says:

    they wouldn’t be a Christian Outreach group if their hands weren’t ‘out reaching’ into someone’s pocket to suppor their heterosexual agenda

  4. Greg Says:

    The AFA and those other looney religious right bigots think they’re doing America a favor by campaigning against the “homosexual lifestyle” (whatever that is), when actually they’re making a great country just a little less great.

    Does Donald E Wildmon, and others of his ilk, really want America to be known for intolerance, judgmentalism and discrimination? Whatever happened to “God is love?” Whatever happened to Jesus’ call for compassion, acceptance and understanding?

    I guess the religious right only want to follow the parts of Jesus’ message that suit their own agendas. And they talk about a “gay agenda?” Freakin’ hypocrites.

    OK, I’ve got that off my chest. Now I’m off to Sears.

  5. Elizabeth McClung Says:

    oh those hip protesters, I guess they missed that many of those shows like Transgeneration and Drag Kings have already been shown on Showtime? Indeed, they must have missed “Fire Island” and “Gay Weddings” two other Showtime series – quick whip up another ban.

    Acutally, is there any chance of LGBT people getting a protest together of particularly odious TV shows which exploit or make fun of gay people…probably not – we just don’t seem to have the “hate hobby” some of the other groups do.

  6. Jason Says:

    Love those photos. Very sexy.

  7. matty Says:

    You rock! Excellent idea!

    I followed your link and just sent the following message via their site:
    Dear Mr. Lewis,

    Just a note to thank you for supporting the LOGO Network. I need to purchase some toys for several nephews — and I will be heading to SEARS tomorrow to make those purchases.

    Please continue to advertise on LOGO. I am pointing my friends over to some Action Alert from the American Familiy Association in an attempt to turn this thing around FOR Sears!

    We are all Americans and have families. I appreciate that you see that in your advertising dollars.

    Thank you!

  8. Maddog Says:

    My email has been sent. Thanks for letting everyone know about this. I am sending the link for the sight in an email tonight to get all of my friends to respond as well.

    I am one of those people lucky enough to have LOGO forced on me in my cable package. There are a few other channels I’d be happy to get rid of, but LOGO is not one of them.

  9. AHK Says:

    My Dad used to work for Allstate Ins. which used to be part of the Sears Family. Since we got a discount we brought almost everything at Sears.

    Think I’ll send them an email letting them know that I support this.

    anabel

  10. matty Says:

    …I don’t get TV anymore, but at my roommate got it at my previous apartment. I like LOGO a lot, but I kept getting annoyed that everything was edited for TV. I mean, it’s a gay network featuring gay story lines but they were cutting same sex making out. bummer. Still, great stride in the right direction.

    Bravo to Sears!

    (actually, I didn’t know Sears still existed)

Leave a Reply

