I AM HOMO, HEAR ME ROAR

In numbers too big to ignore…

gaywedding51_

I just celebrated my own mini-protest. I saw this comment in a campus bulletin, discussing reactions to a recent protest of Prop 8 at city hall. I was so struck by it’s smug, self assured tone of compassionate superiority that I couldn’t let it stand without challenge. Here’s the comment, and my response below.

Protecting marriage as the holy bond between a man and a woman is not a hate crime. There is nothing hateful about it. Marriage is not a right, it is a priviledge. Parenthood is not a right, it is a priviledge(sic).As a Gonzaga alum I am hopeful that students who are told that to be anti-anything is hateful will pray about this issue and understand that the Church does not believe in the hateful oppression of anyone but only for the preservation of the sanctity of the human family. I will pray that an open dialogue will help both sides come together in the pursuit of the truth.

And here’s my response…

“Marriage is a privilege”???????

I don’t think I’ve ever read so blatantly expressed the notion that one group should be privileged over another.

When I was younger, we were always told that “the use of public roads is not a right but a privilege”, when stopped by traffic police, because only farmers had constitutionally protected rights to the roads. Since the constitution does not specifically grant marriage rights to anyone, does this mean that all marriages in America should be annulled, until the proper legislation can be passed? Or does it mean that marriage is a privilege only to be handed out by the church, which the state is then supposed to rubber stamp, because, as we all know, we live in a society characterized by the separation of church and state (That’s called irony, kids).

Right?

Oh, speaking of rights, homosexual people have the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, along with everyone else in our free and equal society, which from the beginning has been granting freedom and equality to different groups as we went along. Historically, we have tended to add protections and rights to people formerly excluded, not take them away, as prop 8 has done. This is why people are outraged.

Gay people simply want no longer to be excluded from the rights that are common to all in our society. Marriage is not just about one groups definition of who is privileged and who isn’t, it’s about being able to take care of a loved one after ones death, by the proper handling of ones estate. It’s about being allowed to visit him or her in the emergency room. It’s about over 1,000 legal protections and benefits guaranteed to heterosexuals that are denied to gay couples.

I too, believe in the sanctity of the family. It’s too bad that the previous commenter doesn’t believe that any family I might have can be sanctified.

It’s time to remove the privileged status and let gay people live in equality.

This is the toned down version. My first draft included incendiary statements like “What twaddle!”, and things like that. At any rate, I hope it stirs something up. With my luck, I’ll discover the writer was the Academic Dean. That flushing sound you hear is my career disappearing down the toilet.

Until next time then,

DEL

Leave a Reply

